Naval Interdiction Rule Interpretation

Sep 10, 2010 at 10:03 AM

I have had this discussion with Patrick before.:)

Rule:

8.22 In order to interdict, a player must have at least one Fleet Point in
the Sea-zone for every two Fleet Points the enemy has in that same
zone.

Presently, the software lets you interdict if you have one fleet no matter what your opponent has. Example, 1 German in the Atlantic interdicts against 4 Wallies.

 

I also contacted Rick Young on this, he agrees that it is a ratio thing even though the rule does not specifically say ratio. So, 1 to 4 cannot interdict. 2 to 4 can interdict. 2 to 3 can interdict. etc.

There should be an option in the Settings(on the top menu bar) to opt for either of these interpretations. This way we keep everybody happy.

Sep 10, 2010 at 10:05 AM

An afterthought, if you can always interdict if you have only one fleet why bother writing down the rule. Definitely a ratio thing.:)

Coordinator
Nov 29, 2010 at 3:58 AM

Europe Engulfed .NET does not allow interdiction with a fleet no matter what. What it does do is faithfully interpret the rule 'at least one Fleet Point in
the Sea-zone for every two Fleet Points the enemy has in that same
zone.'

So if you have 1 fleet and the enemy has 4 fleets there should be no interdiction, if there is then this is definitely a bug and ought to be fixed.

However if you have 1 fleet and the enemy has 3 fleets there should be interdiction, because you do indeed have one fleet for every two of the enemy fleets (there is only 1 set of 2 fleets).

Granted this is a point of contention but until the living rules are updated and made clearer the program ought to implement what is written in the rules.

see http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3310626#3310626 for a discussion on this.